History Kasaragod

In the olden period, Kasaragod was an important trade center of the Arabs who came to Kerala during the 9th century. This place was called by them as Harkwillia. The north part of Kasaragod was believed to be the part of Tuluva kingdom while the southern part was under the control of the Chirakkal royal family. When Kasaragod was part of the Kumbala kingdom, there were about 32 Malayalam and Tulu villages each at that time. While Kasaragod was under the control of the Kolathiri Raja, the Vijayanagara Empire attacked Kasaragod. During its decline the administration of this region was settled with the Ikkery Naiks. When the Vijayanagara Empire declined in 16th century, Vengappa Naik freed Ikkery.

The capital of Ikkery Naiks was Bedanoor and it was captured by Hyder Ali in 1763. Later almost the whole of Malabar came under Tipu Sulthan, son of Hyder Ali. In 1792, Malabar region except Tulunadu was surrendered to the British by him. British managed to get Tulunadu only after the death of Tipu Sulthan.

Earlier Kasaragod was part of Bekal taluk of South Canara of Bombay Presidency and then when Kasaragod taluk was formed; it became a part of Madras Presidency in 1882. Later when the states were reorganized and Kerala state was formed, Kasaragod became a part of the Kerala state. Several leaders like Mohammed Sherul Sahib and Kandige Krishna Bhat played a great role in the struggle for freedom of our country. Besides, there were many other leaders who took part in the National movement. As part of National movements there were fights by the agrarians in order to stop the exploitation by the landlords.