Nehru Trophy Boat Race

The 59th Annual Snake Boat Race was conducted on 13th of August 2011, at Punnamada Lake in Alappuzha. Around 59 Small boats and 19 Snake Boats participated in the boat race. Snake boat Devas Chundan won the prestigious annual Nehru Trophy Boat Race which is India’s largest water sports competition. The Chundan was powered by Kollam Jesus Boat Club. Karichal Chundan became the first runner up followed by the Kainakari Chundan. Karichal Chundan was powered by the Freedom Boat Club while Kainakari Chundan was powered by the United Boat Club.

The event was attended by thousands of people. The race was inaugurated by the Union Health Minister Guhlam Nabi Azad. The Nehru trophy boat race is an event which is enjoyed by all the people and special pavilions are set up for the audience to watch this race. This boat race was first inaugurated by Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru in 1952; hence it got its name.  Different types of boats such as the bean shaped boats, curly headed etc participate in this competition. Silk umbrellas will be kept in each boat and these boats go in procession in the backwaters of Kerala which reminds one of the martial traditions of our state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *